Roundup wins 3 best in state awards for 2nd year, 34 individual awards
For the second year in a row The Roundup earned three best-in-state awards from two Arizona press organizations. The Arizona Newspapers Association, the state’s professional journalism organization, named The Roundup the 2016 “Best High School Newspaper” in its annual contest co-sponsored by the Arizona Associated Press Managing Editors. This is the fifth Best High School Newspaper award for The Roundup in the last six years. The staff won this award…
Roundup earns 2 best in state awards, 35 individual honors
From left to right, Roundup editors AK Alilonu ’16, Cameron Bray ’16, Andrew Howard ’17, Anthony Cardellini ’17, Reece Krantz ’16, Chase Manson ’16 and Bryce Owen ’17 pose for a group photo Oct. 27 at ASU after winning two best in state awards at the Arizona Interscholastic Press Association’s annual convention.   The Arizona Interscholastic Press Association awarded The Roundup first place in its 2015 Newspaper General Excellence contest…
Roundup named best in state for 3rd year, earns other state, national honors
The Roundup staff recently earned multiple top honors from state and national journalism associations, including being named Arizona’s “Best High School Newspaper” for the third year in a row. The Arizona Newspapers Association along with the Arizona Associated Press Managing Editors named The Roundup the 2013 “Best High School Newspaper” in it’s annual Better Newspapers Contest. The Roundup won the same award in 2012 and 2011. The Arizona Scholastic Press…
Roundup named best in state 2nd year in a row
Roundup staff also earns 1st place for Online General Excellence, 29 additional awards  The Arizona Newspapers Association named The Roundup the “Best High School Newspaper” in Arizona for the second year in a row. The ANA announced the award, co-sponsored by Arizona Associated Press Managing Editors, as part of it’s annual Better Newspapers Contest Sept. 29. The Roundup was also the 2011 winner. Along with this honor, The Roundup recently…
Roundup takes home 22 journalism awards
The Roundup recently earned 22 journalism awards from the Arizona Scholastic Press Association. The AIPA gave the honors at its Spring Awards Reception Thursday, May 3 at Arizona State University’s Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication. Awards were for work during the first semester of the year, which included the October, November and December editions of The Roundup. Students earned either honorable mention, excellent or superior ratings. Second semester…
BLAM wins highest honor from national association

By Logan Hall ’14
Principal Mr. Bob Ryan received an email Tuesday, Jan. 17 informing him that the National Council of Teachers of English awarded BLAM, the Brophy Literary Arts Magazine, with the Highest Award rank in their 2011 NCTE Program to Recognize Excellence in Student Literary Magazines.

Fall sports success translates to heavy haul in awards season

By Ian Christopher Beck ’12 & Michael Moroney ’13

Brophy’s fall sports season saw the varsity football team go undefeated in the regular season, the golf team win state for the first time in 12 years, the swim team capture its 23rdconsecutive state title and a fourth place finish by the cross country team in their state meet.

The Roundup wins two national awards

By Alex Stanley ’12
THE ROUNDUP/Co-Editor in Chief

The Roundup is the recipient of two National Scholastic Press Association awards in the organization’s 2011 contest.

Rohan Andresen ’12 won honorable mention for Page One Design in the April edition, placing within the top nine in the country.

The staff also claimed honorable mention for the “Soul of Brophy” multimedia package, one of 10 in the country that received an award.

Brophy honors students at annual assembly

Photo by Sam Wolff ’13

Keith Bender ’11, left, and Jeff Coltin ’11, right, shake hands at the end of Brophy’s annual Student Awards Assembly April 29, 2011. At the assemble Bender was named the class of 2011’s valedictorian and Coltin was named the salutatorian.

The school honors graduating seniors and students from all grade levels at the yearly event.