Roundup named best in state for 3rd year, earns other state, national honors

Photo by Alec Vick '15 | The Roundup earned multiple state and national top honors recently, including "Best High School Newspaper" in Arizona and First Place for Online General Excellence.

The Roundup staff recently earned multiple top honors from state and national journalism associations, including being named Arizona’s “Best High School Newspaper” for the third year in a row.

  • The Arizona Newspapers Association along with the Arizona Associated Press Managing Editors named The Roundup the 2013 “Best High School Newspaper” in it’s annual Better Newspapers Contest. The Roundup won the same award in 2012 and 2011.
  • The Arizona Scholastic Press Association gave The Roundup First Place for Online General Excellence. This is the second year in row the staff earned this award. Students also earned an additional 17 awards at the AIPA state conference Sept. 19. Click here for a list of winners.
  • On a national level, the National Scholastic Press Association named The Roundup a 2013 “Pacemaker” finalist. The Pacemaker is the top honor the NSPA gives and recognizes general excellence in a publication. Click here for more information about judging criteria. Finalists will be named at the NSPA national conference in Boston Nov. 16. The Roundup last earned this honor in 2009.

The 2012/2013 editors in chief were Julian De Ocampo ’13 and Jackson Santy ’13. This year’s editors in chief are Aakash Jain ’14 and Erik Meyer ’14. Click here to see the full staff listing.