Roundup starts year with 25 state, national honors

Roundup staff members and contributors recently earned 25 state and national awards for their work in the student publication last year.

The Arizona Interscholastic Press Association announced 16 Brophy students won a total of 21 awards in its 2010 Fall Newspaper Contest. This was based on work from the second semester of last year and awards were given for honorable mention, excellent and superior ratings.

Click here for a full list of winners, categories and links to their work. The individual student winners are:

Dallas Ducar ’10
Michael Mandeville ’11

Tyler Scott ’12
Eric Villanueva ’11
Keith Bender ’11
Ulises Araiza ’11
James McElwee ’10
Josh Zillwood ’10
Ben Jackson ’11
Andrew Atallah ’10
Ian Beck ’12
Rohan Andresen ’12
James Saint Amour ’10
Alex Pearl ’10
Alex Stanley ’12

On the national stage, the National Scholastic Press Association recently announced finalists for its annual contest and 2010 graduate Josh Zillwood was named a finalist for Best Illustration for his “Distracted Driving” package. Zillwood’s work was one of six selected in the country. Final winners will be announced this November.

Last spring Roundup students won the Arizona Press Women’s 2010 state sweepstakes with 14 individual awards. Top winners went on to compete in the National Federation of Press Women’s annual contest.

In that competition Andrew Ahearne ’11 won third place in the country for his sports photo of Josh Dennard ’11 catching a pass.

Liam Martin ’10 won third place in the country for his feature “Community reaches out to grad in need” and also third place for his review “‘The Shack’ definitely not ‘Pilgrims Progress.’”

Congratulations to these students and the entire Roundup staff for their hard work.