The Roundup earns 30 new journalism awards

The staff of Brophy’s student newspaper, The Roundup, recently earned a total of 30 separate scholastic journalism awards.

On Thursday, April 28 next year’s Co Editors in Chief Ian Beck ’12 and Alex Stanley ’12, along with adviser Mr. Mica Mulloy ’99, attended the Arizona Interscholastic Press Association’s spring awards receptions at the ASU Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication. These awards recognize the best statewide newspaper work from the first semester.

The Roundup staff brought home 28 separate honors, an all-time high.

The awards span categories ranging from photos and page design to news reporting, staff editorials and team packages. The AIPA’s awards show Brophy was among the very best of all other schools. See the complete list of Roundup winners below.

In a separate contest, on Wednesday, April 27 two Brophy students won awards in the American Society of Newspaper Editors/Quill and Scroll Society International Writing and Photography Competition.

Eric Villanueva ’11 won in the news writing category for his story “Media adds stress to busy teen lives,” and Ben Jackson ’11 won for his sports photograph of football player Devon Allen. According to the Quill and Scroll website, Villanueva and Jackson were among 220 winners selected from more than 3,200 entries, and were among six winners in the all of Arizona. These two are now eligible for up to $1,500 in college scholarships next year.

This brings the staff’s total for the year to 49 statewide awards, two Quill and Scroll International honors, two national awards through the National Federation of Press Women (Liam Martin ’10 and Andrew Ahearne ’11) and one national 2nd place finish for best design through the National Scholastic Press Association (Andrew Atallah ’10 and Josh Zillwood ’10).

The final Roundup edition of the year should be distributed on campus and online around May 10th. You can always read The Roundup online at, or follow us on Facebook at and Twitter at

2011 Arizona Interscholastic Press Association Awards

Awards were given for Honorable Mention, Excellent and Superior. Click here to see a list of the winners.